RSS

Book Review: Fearless by Max Lucado

30 Sep

Fearless by max lucado, max lucado, fearless book review, fearless, lucado book review

I enjoyed reading this book. Max Lucado’s works are always a pleasure to read. And not only that, they are always encouraging.

Lucado takes several statements from Jesus that are based on human fears, telling us not to be afraid. He takes each one of these verses and addresses the fear that correlates to it. Like Chapter 4, “Woe, Be Gone.” This chapter uses Matthew 6:25 (NLT) – “I tell you not to worry about everyday life – whether you have enough.” The fear that Lucado addresses is the fear of running out. I’ve certainly had this fear, and I know I’ll have the fear in the future. I’ll have the fear that we won’t be able to come up with enough money for bills, rent, groceries, gas. It seems to be a constant in our lives. So this chapter was very helpful to me. Lucado gives great insights into dealing with these fears and giving them to Jesus.

The other chapter that really spoke to me is called “I’m Sinking Fast.” When you’re feeling overwhelmed with life and its storms, Lucado encourages to “do whatever it takes to keep your gaze on Jesus.” And isn’t that what it’s all about?

I’m glad I read this book. It really gave me a weapon against fear and anxiety over stuff I can’t control. It reminded me who can control that stuff and to put my trust in Him. I’ve found a much more peaceful life when I heed his advice.

Fearless is a book that will help many people. Today’s economic climate has caused people to fear. With job losses, home foreclosures, bankruptcies, and more, those fears are legitimate. But Jesus says “don’t fear.” Throughout this book, the comfort of those words reverberate a sense of calm, and shows beautifully that Jesus is the best one to bring your restless heart—and knotted stomach—to.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
