RSS

Book Review: Finding Our Way Home by Charlene Ann Baumbich

09 Dec

find our way home, charlene ann baumbich, ballet novel, ballet fictionI read the previous book in this series (Divine Appointments), so I was excited when I saw this one. It was nice to get a glimpse into a professional dancer’s life and what happens when they are hurt and have to leave the profession. I loved the characters and the differences in their personalities. Sasha (the dancer) is small and quiet; Evelyn is tall and loud, but they compliment each other nicely.

I have to say I liked the previous book better. I think the characters and story were more real somehow. But this was a nice read. It covered depression, bad relationships, stubbornness, and a lot of other things that we all go through. The author did a great job of showing how God can get us to change the way we see things. The book did tend to have a little superstition in it. I would have liked to see more Holy Spirit as opposed to a snow globe with powers. But there were aspects of God in the book. Evelyn brought God’s grace to light when Sasha really needed it.

For the most part, the book is well-written and enjoyable to read. Thank you Ms. Baumbich for another great book in this series.

Thank you to Water Brook Press for sending me this copy to review.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 9, 2011 in Fiction Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Book Review: Finding Our Way Home by Charlene Ann Baumbich

  1. shelleyring

    March 5, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    Vanessa, I wanted to thank you so much for your honest and thoughtful way of reviewing books. I know when I read your posts, I can trust them. It’s hard to find a reviewer who is honest about things that didn’t work for her, but still kind and relating good things about the book. You do a great job of both!

    Blessings on you!
    Shelley Ring

     
    • Vanessa Carroll

      March 6, 2012 at 8:15 am

      Thanks so much, Shelley. I’m glad you feel that way. I always hope I don’t come off sounding too negative. I appreciate your feedback.
      Vanessa

       

Leave a Reply

 
