RSS

Book Review: The Pirate Queen by Patricia Hickman

08 Mar

The Pirate Queen, Patricia Hickman, book review, Christian novelThe biggest thing that impressed me with this book was that it actually had Christian content. The gospel was presented and someone responded to it. Amazing. This is the first Christian novel that I have read in a few months that was so obviously Christian. It made me very happy. I feel that a book that is sold as a Christian novel should represent, in some way, what Christians believe. The Pirate Queen does this! Bravo!

I really loved the characters in this book, even the one who was originally the antagonist – the bad guy. It just goes to show that people who seem to be the bad guy aren’t always all bad. There is good and bad in everyone.

Of course the character who really stole my heart was Tobias – the little neighbor boy. I won’t say why though. Don’t want to ruin the story. Up until he was introduced, I actually wasn’t loving the book. But when his little face came onto the scene, the story became very gripping.

The beginning took a little while to get into, the middle of the book was gripping, and I thought the ending was done very well and was very satisfying. This is one of the best books I’ve read within the past year. Fantastic!

Thank you Multnomah for providing this book for my review.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in Fiction Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment